Love at first sight

It has happened to me once before and I am afraid that it has happened again. I’ve fallen in love with a handbag and this time it is a Jafferjees!

There is something about us women and our love for shoes and handbags. It is a passion and a never ending pleasure. Women stuffing their wardrobes with clothes and shoes is not a new phenomenon. The relationship to an expensive handbag, perhaps the first that you have saved for or received as a gift is something special. “It’s just a bag,” someone might say. Of course they are wrong, for it has been a part of you for many years. You may have more than one, but this is your favorite one. Sometimes you dream about adding to your little collection- perhaps another handbag that can make you just as happy.

Although I got my first dream purse a few years back, I still remember I had gone and looked at it quite a few times.  Despite being an adult with twenty years of work behind me, I harbored reservations. One of the many objections was- is it really worth all this money? Shouldn’t other more important things take precedence? How could someone with a good conscience spend so much money on a handbag? My better half erased all reservations when he gave it to me as a gift and said-because you deserve it 😉

Over the past few years, I see that “handbag fever” has reached new heights here in the north. I must admit that it is very strange for me when I see teenage girls with expensive handbags. There is something wrong when Mulberry, Louis Vuitton, Gucci and Burberry become benchmarks of standard for some teenagers. What dreams to have when one is still so young, I often wonder. Well, now I have discovered a new label and it happens to be none other than the Pakistani brand “Jafferjees”.

I did not know about the brand until quite recently. For 125 years Jafferjees has  made the most exclusive and elegant collections for men and women. It is a recognized brand outside the country’s borders too. They started off initially by making leather horse saddles in colonial times for the British in Quetta.  The business soon expanded into a range of leather belts, wallets, purses and exclusive bags. Today this brand is even sold in Dubai.

After seeing their collection, I dream of owning a Jafferjees. Whenever and wherever I buy my first handbag, I know I can buy one without a bad conscience because it will not cause a huge dent in my pocket in spite of its high quality. Prices are around under a thousand kroner and up to 2000-2500 respectively. For me the added bonus is that Jafferjees is a Pakistani brand. As their slogan says: It’s not just a brand – It’s a statement.

It’s great to be able to dream about something that deserves a place. (In my closet and in my heart 😉 Sweet( handbag) dreams!

Website: Jafferjees

Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/jafferjees

By Mahmona Khan